My Life on Earth


DSCN2653 - Copy

From Eternity I come,
I’m a stranger
here on Earth.
I wasn’t asked, but formed
at moment’s notice,

when molecules
and atoms
collided at my parent’s
orgasmic ecstasy
My life began.

It did not take long,
a nano second
in the scheme of things,
before I left my home
of nine good months.

I screamed of course
and could not breathe.
A well aimed slap
gave me lesson
number one:

Not much is achieved
without some pain.
As people struggle
to survive.
I grew up fast,

In another nano second or two.
I was dreaming
during school,
when I asked myself
a question:

Why do I learn so much,
when in another nano second or two
I will be dead and with it,
all the knowledge
I accrued?

With an inner urge to learn,
as much as learn I could,
my eyes marvelled at
the colours of the world,
the wonders of the stars.

I listened
to the songs of birds,
above the murmur
of a brook,
feasted on the mighty Bach.

I caught the fragrance of blossoms
in my nose,
drowned in a woman’s scent,
felt good, with skin on skin,
in my lover’s arms.

I took in the words
of the great bard,
read Faust
and sang
the Ode to Joy,

‘travelled many countries
of the globe,
studied history of wars and kings,
made algebra
my favourite toy.

 
I could’ve been a teacher in a school,
been good at passing on
and shared all I knew.
But I missed the boat
and time has passed.

I have learned my fill.
It seems my stay on Earth
comes soon to an end.
A string of nano seconds
have become my life’s events.

Where do I go from here,
with all I’ve learned?
Will all my efforts be in vain?
Could I lose the treasures of my mind?
Take knowledge to my grave?

I wouldn’t know with any certainty,
till I find out… or… not…
when I pass through the gates of death;
and I’ll get back …
To Eternity!

12 thoughts on “My Life on Earth

    • I’m still here – trying to think to write about something. An old man is not full of ideas as a young one would be. An old man is mostly in a place called “The Past” because the present is confusing. The people who populate the present do things because they don’t know all the things old people know. So, they trying out ideas and repeat the mistakes we did in the past.

    • Oh, Sharmishta what we think we know, is so miniscule. We should not run around with it like a hawker.

      Today’s news from India is grim again. Calamity has struck Uttarakhand . They say 1000 people are dead.

      There was a picture of Lord Shiva standing in the flood water.
      I’m so sorry for your people.

  1. as for sharing wisdom, well I don’t think its hawking your treasure- if our ancestors have thought like that we would have been deprived of so much wealth in form of literature, knowledge!

    • I have met too many people who confidently say wrong things and will argue to the end of world supporting their views.

      this is why its good to be a listener most of the times and just listen, understand and sift the words spoken.

  2. They know something ( a fraction of a fraction) but that puts them in the realms of an erroneous belief. You are right, they could well be insane. A warning might be in order when you meet self assured people they believe in themselves and the little they know. Doubt and scepticism are prerequisites for learning more.

    • I have met too many people who confidently say wrong things and will argue to the end of world supporting their views.

      this is why its good to be a listener most of the times and just listen, understand and sift the words spoken.

Leave a Reply

