Fathers can be Philosophers too


In Australia we had Father’s Day last Sunday. It is an occasion when the offspring turns up and give thanks for being their father. This is a nice gesture of love and well appreciated. Often they carry gifts which fathers declare not being necessary but are nonetheless gracefully accepted.

My youngest daughter is now the same age as my mother was, when I was born. This coincidence came into focus to me today, as I was reading in the magazine, she had given me as a Father’s Day gift. I realised, that my daughter thinks of me differently from what my parents thought of me.

Me as a three year old

Me as a three year old

 

 

In case you wonder, the gift was a magazine, “NewPhilosoper” (http://www.newphilosopher.com/ ).

 

I started to read and found it very interesting. But then a question arose in my mind? How come my parents thought there wasn’t any hope for me but my daughter, more than seventy years later, thought I would understand anything philosophical? I was always interested in the big questions that come up during our short stay on this earth and I think one can see this in my face at three. I welcomed the world and its complications. I always listened to adults talking (Which my mother didn’t like and called “snooping or nosey”) because I wanted to find out things. Why would you call a bright eyed, inquiring kid names?

A child needs love, but what he or she needs even more is affirmation. If the affirmation is there the child feels loved too. I think with her gift my daughter gave me some affirmation that she sees in me more than the father she loves.

Older and wiser

Older and wiser

 

 

That is me now. Not quite the philosopher but not immune to philosophical questions. The headline title of the magazine is called, “WAKE UP’. Perhaps, the message for me is to wake up.

 

scan0001

 

6 thoughts on “Fathers can be Philosophers too

  1. Funny the things we remember from our childhood…like the names we were called 🙂
    Good post, and I love the pictures 🙂

    • Thank you, Munira. The names I was called as a child were not always pleasant and I don’t want to repeat them. The treatment I received as a child from my family would be regarded today as child abuse.

  2. generally old age and retired life gives ample time to think philosophically. . what is philosophy it is squeeze of all experience gained in one’s life time expressed in words .

    • Thank you, Mohammedi Mamoowala, for visiting my blog and leaving a comment.

      “generally old age and retired life gives ample time to think philosophically. .
      what is philosophy it is squeeze of all experience gained in one’s life time expressed in words .”

      Wise words indeed and describing my situation perfectly.
      One is not born a philosopher, but grows into it. I assume
      I still have a long way to go.

      During our working lives we are often not in a position to think about
      our situations as the daily struggle is all consuming.

      But now, at this late stage in our lives, we older people have indeed the time to reflect.

      On my journey through life I have encountered Sufism and found it a suitable philosophy
      fitting my inclinations.

      I love reading your daughter Munira’s blog

  3. Good one Berlioz. I am somewhat puzzled about your parents being less than confident in your future as a possible philosopher or anything else. Why was that?
    You mentioned it twice and as I very much feel I am my father’s son in as much that I grew up very like him, I wonder how you must have gone off and grown at a different tangent to your parents. It must have been hard or am seeing too much here?

    • Confidence in anything else would have been just fine.

      The main reason why I was a stranger to them was, because I spend the first six month of my life away from them and they did not have the opportunity to bond with me.

      I’m not like my father at all.

Leave a Reply

