Happy Birthday Aunty Uta


AuntyUta

AuntyUta today

Today is an important date.  Not only is it the Equinox but also my lovely wife’s birthday. We had a lot to remember.  Many of her  birthdays we have celebrated together.  The most memorable was her 21st. That is how she looked then.

Easy to fall in love with

Easy to fall in love with

On the day in question in 1955 we had agreed to meet at her place. Uta had rented the tiniest of rooms in a fourth floor  apartment When I arrived at the agreed time and I wanted to climb up the stairs her land lady came down and told me that Uta had gone out to do some last minute shopping and there was no need to go up the full flight of stairs. But, she left it open that Fäulein Spickermann could have been come back unnoticed. I climbed the full flight of stairs and knocked on the door. Nothing happened. Another knock – still nothing. The land lady must have been right Fäulein was be still out.

I walked downstairs and waited in the cool entrance hall as it was a rather warm late summer’s day. I waited and waited. All sorts of ideas and theories went through my head.  Has she dropped me in this rather cruel way. No, not my darling Uta.  What was I to think? Has anything happened to her on her way to the shops? The shops were not that far and she should have been back  a long time.

Young people today have no idea how life was in those day without a mobile. People were not easily contactable. Any misunderstanding can quickly be resolved nowadays by  SMS or a phone call. We did not have that luxury  then. The brain had a free reign to invent the most outrageous scenarios. After almost two hours of waiting I was close to call it quits when Uta suddenly appeared, with a beaming face,  coming down the stairs.  What a relief. We were both happy to see each other.

Uta had to to go a phone booth to call her aunt who wanted to see her too for her birthday. After the phone call we went to another suburb where we met her aunty and her cousin. All in all the day ended well. But sometimes I wonder what would have happened if I had given up waiting. I could have rung her another day  at work to clear things up or be disappointed and forget about this “unreliable” girl who stood me up.

Fourteen months later we got married and we are still together to tell the tale.

scan0003

The young couple February 1957

I’m still in love with Uta and would still wait any number of hours for her as the reward is in the being  together.

Still happy together

Still happy together

8 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Aunty Uta

  1. How lovely to see a picture of you both together in 1957 and now! I’m amazed you waited for two whole hours under her apartment…now that’s what I call dedication 🙂
    Love the photo of Aunty Uta on her 21st birthday…she looks so pretty. I wish her a very happy birthday with many more years of health and happiness. Much love to you both.

    • Thank you, Munira. I thought then it would be worthwhile to hang around. And I intend to do it to the end. Uta says “Thank you,” for the birthday wishes. When I look at her today I see the same attractive person she was then.

  2. A gorgeous, wonderful girl and a handsome young man. You were a lovely couple back then and you are one today. I hope my husband and I can show each other half as much the love that you share now. Happy birthday, Uta!

Leave a Reply

