Pentecost fifty five years ago


He called out to his wife, “What day is it today?”

“Sunday, Darling,” she called from the bed room and added, “in fact it is Pentecost and I’m getting ready for church.”

 

“Pentecost?…This reminds me of Pentecost fifty five years ago on our way to Australia. We were in Colombo for a stop-over, do you remember?” he asked her.

“Of course I remember. It was stinking hot and we walked for miles without getting a drink,” she said.

“We didn’t get a drink because we had no money, but I remember Queen Victoria greeting us on arrival,” he chuckled, “she was sitting on the throne overlooking her crumbling empire.”

 

scan0001

“It wasn’t her fault her grandchildren started the Great War,” she said entering the study drying her hair with a towel.

“And I was impressed seeing all those religions living side by side. We even entered a mosque. It was beautiful and cool inside there.”

 

scan0003

 

“I liked the Hindu temple too,” she said while giving her hair a good rubbing.

 

scan0002

 

“What wasn’t so cool was the ravens and cats fighting over scraps from the rubbish bins.” He said.

scan0013

 

“We should have gone to the cinema and seen an Indian epic,” She said and continued, while brushing her hair into some sort of shape, “people were queuing up and were waiting patiently in the hot sun.”

“I don’t think we would have liked the film. The idea was to see something of the city, not sitting in a stuffy cinema,  not understanding a word.” He said and was quiet for a couple of minutes trying to remember. “There was heaps of traffic, cars, ox carts and even double-decker trolley buses.”

 

scan0004

 

He fumbled now in a box full of old photos and said,

“Here is a picture of the trolley bus. and the building  at the street corner could have well been the cinema. What you think?”

“Sorry, Darling. I have no time to think. I have to get ready for church. I expect the Bishop to be there:”

“That is important, isn’t it?” he asked. “There was also some sort of procession led by a VW van with a blaring loudspeaker on top of it.”

 

scan0009

“Yes, I remember now, Darling,  the Buddhist priests in their yellow robes were quite a spectacle and also people with drums. But I have to hurry now. I’ll be back half past ten and we will have a cup of tea then.”

scan00010

scan0011

 

 

 

 

 

He heard the front door slam shut and he was alone. He could still remember how friendly the people in Colombo were. They were all smiling and they did not mind being photographed.

 

 

scan0007

scan0006

 

 

 

 

“I wonder, whether they are still like that after the civil war,” he thought. The city must have changed into something more modern. In deed it has.

 

 

Colombo (Google image)

Colombo (Google image)

 

 

(Black and white photos, copyright Peter Hannemann)

 

18 thoughts on “Pentecost fifty five years ago

  1. peter i am a christian,but i am jacobite(just understand i am not catholic),so what you guys do?you will draw a black cross mark on you fore head or something?is it a very important day for catholics.i just like to know these things.that is all πŸ™‚

  2. I’m an atheist and my wife is Roman Catholic. We have no religious conflict whatsoever. Love is our overarching concept.

    • what?but i have seen you mentioned about god somewhere in your blog believe.oh no peter i was once a guy who teased religious people started saying richard dawkins is correct everything is science why that plane went down to sea etc. etc.but i soon realized jesus still lives.i am not saying this to change your mind.just thought to share this with a nice human πŸ™‚

      • If people believe in a God it is their business and I will not criticise them for it. Jesus, I regard as a great teacher as I do other religious leaders. They all contributed to the combined wisdom of mankind. Non of them were fanatics. Fanatics and fundamentalist came later.

        Richard Dawkins is right in what he says, but not the way he says it. He shows no respect for others and therefore I regard him as a fundamentalist too.

    • We have lots of old photos and we can’t through them away.

      I have not been back, but would like to. Sure there must be change. There was that terrible civil war and I remember how friendly the people were. I can’t imagine that they did all those terrible things to each other. Australia has now to deal with the refugee problem as many Tamils try to get away from Sri Lanka. The other day a Sri Lankan man poured petrol over himself and burned to death because he was under threat of being sent back. Very sad.

  3. I went to Colombo in 1953 with my parents. My mother was3 or 4 months pregnant. I don’t remember much. πŸ™‚

  4. it certainly is a great culture… without a doubt! I wonder how life is now… some countries just have a bad luck, like Afghanistan- one invasion after the other has destroyed that country.

Leave a Reply

