As a Hitler Youth in the “Land of Peace”


The home belonged to the Inner Mission of Germany. This mission was part of the evangelical church. I will deal with my religious life in the home in another post.

We all know in 1944 the Nazi regime in Germany was on its last stretch. But in

Friedland, this “Land of Peace”, we did not notice. It was the duty of all children from the age of ten to join the Hitler Youth or the Deutsches Jungvolk. Before that age one could volunteer to join the Pimpfe, a sort of pre-Hitler-Youth. I did not volunteer, but had no choice at all. All the boys at the home joined. There wasn’t any debate about it.

Each Wednesday evening we had our “day of duty”. When it was dark we stayed indoors and instruction regarding the Nazi Party and its leaders were given in the common room. Naturally, a large photo of our Führer was on the wall. It appeared that he looked at any observer, no matter from which angle the observer looked. There were also some pictures of Jesus Christ on other parts of the wall.

In no time at all I knew all about the birthdays and life stories of our leaders. Don’t ask me now, because now I only know something about Hitler’s life. I did not mind those lessons. What I did not like was when we went outside onto a football field and received drill instructions. We turned right and left, we marched, did sit- and push-ups; we were ordered to run and stand at attention. Anybody who has military boot camp experience knows what I’m talking about. We learnt all the military songs that were in vogue. They were drummed into us. Often the weather was miserable and a strong wind blew over the field. Except for the drill I must confess I liked a lot of this activity.

Normally the Hitler Youth wore a uniform, but we did not have any. This did not stop them from using us as if we wore uniforms. We learnt to draw maps of the environment so we could make reports to our leaders. From time to time we went out into the parks and forests to play manoeuvre-like games were we could use our new learnt skills. A few years later all this would have been handy on the Eastern front. But the war was over a year later.

During the summer the Nazi Youth organisation set up a large coming together and march-past of all the units of the province, at Falkenberg, now Niemodlin ( pol., engl, germ). After a walk of 8 km to the railway station and a train ride we arrived at Falkenberg, a town in a festive mood. Drums, pipes and flags were everywhere. We assembled at the beautiful town square. We boys were all excited and marched to the athletic field. There, some big shots in uniforms made speeches. After it was all over we went home again. It was a long and exhaustive day.

In late summer of the same year we were once again sent to Falkenberg. This time to see a film. It was the film “Münchausen“. It was especially commissioned by the government as a project for the 25th anniversary of the UfA (German film company). It was also the first German colour film. By the time it reached us, it was already a year old, but I did not know that at the time. The showing of the film was arranged in a large hall. I’m not sure, but it could have been in the town hall. There were hundreds of people and the hall was filled to capacity and the walls were adorned by many large Swastika flags. As we were waiting before the start of the movie suddenly there was a commotion and it was announced that the Gauleiter for the region of Upper Silesia would enter the hall. We all jumped up and and shouted, “Sieg Heil”.

Of course the Gauleiter gave a rousing speech of which I can’t remember a word today. I’m sure it ended with, “Heil Hitler”. The lights were dimmed and we saw a newsreel first. What I remember of this newsreel is an item where they showed a night air raid on Berlin by the RAF and how the air defence operated. Search lights scanned the sky and the Flak was firing its deadly grenades up into the air. This was done with an over the top commentary as was the norm during the war. For me as a boy from Berlin it was suggesting that Berlin would be safe even so my mother had written to me that there were now daily air raids day and nights.

The main feature was enjoyed by all, but when I saw the movie on the internet a couple of years ago I found it rather mediocre. Seeing a film, for the first time in colour, that day was a special experience for us. We would have talked about it for days.

All the indoctrination did not turn me into a proper Hitler Youth, because I did not like the military drill at all.

8 thoughts on “As a Hitler Youth in the “Land of Peace”

  1. Yes, that was the time of everybody being convinced Germany was on a truly wonderful path. As a small boy one had no choice of different options. In Holland too, there was a keenness on physical fitness and each school had a gym. Gymnastics was part of school subjects s a languages, maths etc.
    Of course, I am talking of the late forties, early fifties.

  2. During the summer of 1944 I was in a village school (Dorfschule) that had only one teacher. I think this teacher had a kind of leg injury and was in his forties. He was probably exempt from military service. I liked him for I think he was a good teacher. During the summer we kids did running as well as high jump and long jump. I quite liked this kind of sport, but apart from running was not very good at it. I think I was fairly good at running for my age and liked to run. I was allowed to participate in a sports’ festival even though I was too young to belong to the BDM (Bund Deutscher Mädchen).
    I would say that 1944 was a rather memorable year for me too.
    I found what you write about your life in Friedland most interesting, dear Berlioz, especially due to the fact that both of us had to stay away from Berlin during that time.

  3. Thanks for commenting auntyuta. ’44 was the year the war went already bad for Germany. I will write another post how the war affected me in Silesia.

  4. Part of Hitler’s skewed genius was the way he summoned the energy of youth to support his cause. Young people tend to have an abundance of energy, and often don’t know where to spend it. Hitler provided youth with a goal and a vision, eerily similar to what is happening to the young terrorists of today.

    • You are so right. Our present system does not offer the young people a perspective for a better future. The young Arabs who live in France came for a better life, but they didn’t find it. So they listen to the words of the demagogues.

  5. Hello! I popped over to your blog from Gerard’s and I see that you are German. I was born in Stuttgart, child of an American GI and a German mother. Her stories of growing up in the war are an indelible part of my childhood. In particular I remember her telling me how jealous she was of her older sister who could be in the BDM ( do I have that right?) and how upset she was when the war was over because now she could never wear that uniform her sister did. Funny the perspective children have at war time. And always, of course, the longing for food. I will enjoy reading your blog.

    • Hi Barbara, thanks for visiting my blog.

      WW II left us, who went through it, with memories that are carried through to the new generations. This is true for the victims of the holocaust as well of the perpetrators and the people who came to liberate Europe. In some of my stories I try to illustrate just how I went through that experience. I hope there is no malice towards anyone or any group. Best wishes, Peter

Leave a Reply

